Connect with us
Express news
  • Anthony Martial leaves Man Utd and joins Sevilla on loan.  Juventus signed Vlahović and Zakaria. Frank Lampard is the new Everton's coach. Senegal is the first AFCON 2021 finalist, will they face off Egypt or Cameroon? Aubameyang aims to revive his career in Barcelona. Luis Diáz joins Liverpool from FC Porto. Adama Traoré heads to Barcelona on loan transfer.

Legends of the Champions League – Part II


Legends of the Champions League – Part II

Legends of the Champions League – Part II

The second part of our series looking at UEFA Champions League (UCL) finals continues. Who were the heroes and what happened in these exciting encounters between 1997 and 1999?

Borussia Dortmund 3-1 Juventus (1997)

Dortmund were making just their second appearance in the UCL and found themselves in a final against the holders, who remained one of the best teams in Europe.

But the skill of Italy’s finest was stifled by a gutsy display from Scottish midfielder Paul Lambert, who marked Zinedine Zidane out of the game.

Karl-Heinz Riedle netted twice to put the Germans comfortably ahead by half-time and, although Alessandro Del Piero pulled one back for Juventus, a wonderful chip from 20-year-old local boy Lars Ricken sealed perhaps the biggest upset in UCL final history to date!

Juventus 0-1 Real Madrid (1998)

With the quality of players on show and the amount of chances created, it’s incredible this game ended with just one goal scored. However, while clinical finishing wasn’t on show, this was a clash of the highest quality, played at an exhilarating pace.

Edgar Davids’ trickery and Zinedine Zidane’s class looked like it would eventually win it for the Italians. However, Predrag Mijatović was instead the match-winner, in what was a brilliantly contested and fiery affair between two of the top teams in Europe. 

Manchester United 2-1 Bayern Munich (1999)

The first 90 minutes of this game were nothing special, as Bayern Munich took an early lead through Mario Basler and little happened after.

But the drama in second-half injury time made this one of the most iconic finals Europe has ever seen, with Teddy Sheringham equalising in the first added minute. Ole Gunnar Solskjær then made the Red Devils champions of Europe in the 93rd minute!

It wasn’t as good a game as either of their two group stage meetings, but it was much more dramatic. The victory completed the historic treble for Sir Alex Ferguson’s men.

To be continued…

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Football